Print Page | Sign In | Join HCBA
About the HCBA Excellence Awards
Share |


Excellence Award Recipients:

-- 2019 Honorees

  •  Pamela Hoopes, for Career Contributions to the Profession
  •  Blaine Balow, for Providing Pro Bono Service
  •  Jess Birken, for Advancing Innovation in the Profession
  •  Michael Boulette, for Providing Pro Bono Service
  •  Kendra Brodin, for Serving the Association / Foundation
  •  Sybil L. Dunlop, for Advancing Diversity & Inclusion
  •  Loan T. Huynh, for Advancing Diversity & Inclusion
  •  Cynthia Y. Lee, for Advancing Diversity & Inclusion
  •  Lisa Lodin Peralta, for Advancing Diversity & Inclusion
  •  Gloria Stamps-Smith, for Mentoring in the Profession

-- 2018 Honorees

  • Sue Pontinen, for Career Contributions to the Profession
  • Landon Ascheman, for Mentoring in the Profession
  • Michael Cockson, for Providing Pro Bono Service
  • Yaima Couso, for Improving Access to Justice
  • Phil Duran, for Advancing Diversity and Inclusion
  • Ami ElShareif, for Serving the Association / Foundation
  • Hon. JaPaul Harris, for Improving Access to Justice
  • Susan Link, for Advancing Innovation in the Profession 
  • RJ Zayed, for Providing Pro Bono Service.

About the Excellence Awards:

In 2017, the Hennepin County Bar Association announced its new Excellence Awards program to honor individual members for contributions to the profession and the community. The new Excellence Awards replace the association's previous awards programs.

Nominations for HCBA Excellence Awards will be accepted each year between July 1 and January 31, using the online nominations form.

The HCBA Awards committee (appointed each year and chaired by the HCBA's immediate past president) will review nominations beginning in February and make its selections. Award recipients will be notified in March and the awards will be presented at the HCBA Annual Meeting, typically held in May or June.

Up to twelve HCBA Excellence Awards may be awarded in a given bar year, selected from any of the six categories 

  • Advancing Diversity and Inclusion
  • Improving Access to Justice
  • Providing Pro Bono Service
  • Mentoring in the Profession
  • Advancing Innovation in the Profession
  • Serving the Association / Foundation

Although nominators are encouraged to identify the ways in which nominees excel in one or more categories, the Awards Committee will determine the individual category for which each award recipient will be recognized. Awards may not be given in every category each year, and there is no minimum number of award recipients in each year.  The Award Committee’s final recommendations regarding award recipients shall be approved by the Executive Committee.

An additional award called Career Contributions to the Profession may be given periodically by the Executive Committee. Selection will be in the sole discretion of the Executive Committee and will recognize a member’s outstanding career contributions. To recommend an individual for this honor, please contact HCBA Governance Coordinator Sarah Mayer.

HCBA Excellence Award Nomination Form >>