Print Page | Sign In | Join HCBA
Eric T. Cooperstein Becomes 95th President of the HCBA
Share |

News Release: June 20, 2013 

Minneapolis: -- Eric T. Cooperstein becomes the 95th president of the Hennepin County Bar Association (HCBA) on July 1. Cooperstein manages his own private law practice, Law Office of Eric T. Cooperstein, focusing on legal ethics, risk management, and practice management.

Born and raised in New York, Cooperstein studied government and computer science at Hamilton College. After college, he worked as a loan officer at a commercial bank prior to attending law school at the University of Minnesota. Following graduation, he worked for both the Legal Aid Society and Mansfield & Tanick. After five years with the Legal Aid Society, Cooperstein became an assistant director with the Office of Lawyers Professional Responsibility where he worked until 2001, when he accepted a position with the Office of the Monitor, an agency overseeing the settlement of a class action lawsuit by black farmers against the U.S. Department of Agriculture. In 2006, Cooperstein began the solo practice, which he continues today.

Cooperstein has been a highly engaged member of the legal profession, including serving on the MSBA Rules of Professional Conduct Committee, Fourth District Ethics Committee, Association of Professional Responsibility Lawyers, and the Advisory Committee on the Lawyer Discipline System.

Believing that the HCBA is all about connections, Cooperstein hopes to help lawyers get out from behind their desks to meet each other. His own experience with and enthusiasm for the profession will guide him in leading the association and its 8,300 members.

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Members of the 2013-2014 Executive Committee of the Hennepin County Bar Association are:

President: Eric Cooperstein, Law Office of Eric T. Cooperstein
President-elect: Tom Nelson, Leonard Street and Deinard
Treasurer: Kim Lowe, Fredrikson & Byron
Secretary: Paul Floyd, Wallen-Friedman & Floyd
Past President: Thomas D. Jensen, Lind, Jensen, Sullivan, and Peterson
New Lawyers Section Chair: Jen Olson, Leonard Street and Deinard

The Hennepin County Bar Association is a professional society representing over 8,300 area attorneys with a wide variety of services for the community and the profession. The association strives to ensure the fairness and accessibility of the legal system by promoting public understanding and confidence in our system of justice and by working along with the courts to improve the administration of justice.